When you go to file your taxes, you take any exemption you can get to lower your tax bill. You may qualify for Ohio’s homestead exemption if you fall into a certain category. The amount you can receive for the exemption is not dependent on your marital status, but you could qualify if you are a surviving spouse.
What Is the Homestead Exemption?
Ohio’s homestead exemption allows you to take an exemption on your taxes if you:
- Own and live in your primary residence as of January 1 of the year in which you apply
- Are 65 years old or will be by December 31 of the year in which you apply
- Are permanently and totally disabled and certified by a licensed psychologist or physician
Here’s how you qualify if you are the surviving spouse:
- Your deceased spouse was totally and permanently disabled or at least 65 years old and they qualified for the homestead exemption
- You were at least 59 years of age when they died
- You were not 65+ when your spouse died\
- You meet the other homestead exemption requirements
What’s the Maximum Exemption Amount?
There is a maximum homestead exemption amount regardless of marital status, and it’s $25,000. If your home is worth $250,000, then you can say it’s worth $225,000 on your taxes. You cannot make more than $34,200 per year (in 2021) in order to qualify.
Calling Richard P. Arthur for Bankruptcy Help
Richard P. Arthur, Attorney at Law, can help you figure out if you qualify for a homestead exemption. You can call 937-254-3738 for a consultation. He has nearly three decades of experience assisting clients in Dayton and Trotwood, as well as Montgomery, Greene, Miami, Clark, and Warren counties.